Medieval Sculptures
The Virgin of Mercy
Follower of Michel Erhart
Ca. 1450/1500
114 cm
Emil Bührle's interest in art went back to his days as a student at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau. One series of lectures that remained in his memory was that given by Professor Wilhelm Vöge, who specialised in Gothic sculpture on French and German cathedrals. The last seminar that Bührle attended before being called up for military service in August 1914 drew comparisons between the cathedrals of Strasbourg and Freiburg.
So it isn't entirely surprising that, notwithstanding his love of modern French painting, Bührle the collector maintained a lasting interest in mediaeval sculpture. At the core of this part of his collection are works from the Gothic period from the region around Lake Constance, as well as Bavaria and the Tyrol. The figure in the Bührle collection known as the "Virgin of Mercy" is attributed to the circle of Master Michel Erhart, who was active in the south German city of Ulm. It has been dated to the Late Gothic period, between 1450 and 1500, when figures of saints were produced in unprecedented numbers.
According to Roman Catholic doctrine, saints could intervene on behalf of those who prayed to them. This role is vividly expressed here in the "Virgin of Mercy". The faithful, men and women in separated groups as in a church, are shown gathered under the cloak of the Virgin Mary, raising their hands in prayer. Their own robes identify them as belonging to the higher ranks of society and the clergy. The Virgin's cloak is held by two angels, which expresses its symbolic meaning as the starry firmament. Under it the faithful know they are safe – in confidence that Mary will obtain for them the blessing of her son, which is evident in the gesture made by the right hand of the baby Jesus.

Sculptures médiévales
Vierge de Miséricorde
Successeur de Michel Erhart
Vers 1450/1500
114 cm
L’intérêt d’Emil Bührle pour l’art remonte à ses jeunes années, alors qu’il était étudiant à l’université de Fribourg-en-Bresgau. Les cours du professeur Wilhelm Vöge le marquèrent tout particulièrement. Celui-ci était spécialisé dans la scultpure gothique des cathédrales françaises et allemandes et le dernier cours auquel Emil Bührle assista avant d’être appelé sous les drapeaux en 1914 était consacré à l’étude comparative des cathédrales de Strasbourg et de Fribourg.
Indépendamment de sa passion pour la peinture française moderne, Emil Bührle s’est également intéressé de près à la sculpture du Moyen-âge. Sa collection s’articule autour de travaux gothiques provenant de la région du lac de Constance, de Bavière et du Tyrol. On pense que cette sculpture dite la « Vierge de Miséricorde » a été réalisée dans l’entourage de Michel Erhart, un maître exerçant à Ulm à l’époque du gothique flamboyant, c’est-à-dire entre 1450 et 1500. Au cours de cette période, des images de saints furent produites dans une quantité jamais égalée auparavant.
Selon la religion catholique, les saints peuvent intervenir en faveur des croyants. Dans la « Vierge de Miséricorde », cette fonction est représentée à l’aide d’une métaphore explicite. Les croyants, les femmes d’un côté et les hommes de l’autre, se rassemblent sous le manteau de la Vierge et lèvent leurs mains en signe de prière. Les habits des croyants les désignent comme appartenant à des classes sociales élevées des mondes séculier et écclésiastique. Deux anges tiennent le manteau de la Vierge, ce qui lui donne une valeur symbolique : il s’agit du firmament sous lequel les croyants se savent en sécurité, confiants dans le fait que la Vierge obtient la bénédiction de son fils, comme nous l’indique le geste que celui-ci effectue de sa main droite.