Pierre Auguste Renoir
(Limoges, 1841-1919, Cagnes)
Still Life with Dahlias, ca. 1885/90
Oil on canvas, 65 x 54 cm
Signed lower left: Renoir
Dauberville 1659
Renoir’s still life paintings meant for him a refreshing respite from bigger assignments, and this applies in particular to his flower still lifes, which he painted mainly in the middle and at the end of his career.
In contrast to Cézanne, who rarely painted flowers because they did not stand up to his slow procedure, Renoir, with his light swift touch, is here entirely in his element. And as Vollard reports, Madame Renoir knew what she was doing when she brought him from the gardens in Essoyes, her home village, or in "Les Collettes" in Cagnes the flowers of the season and placed them in the studio. Then Renoir would say, "When my wife composes a bouquet, I need only sit down and paint it."
Madame Renoir thus did the same as, later, Charlotte Berend-Corinth, who would compose for Lovis Corinth a seductive floral still life in the studio, so that in painting he could overcome his depressions.
The luxuriant dahlias in this picture with their full blooms, with their tapering petals, framed by the flamboyant leaves, lend this picture, which is Impressionistic in the narrower sense, an almost Baroque character which is redolent of Delacroix and 18th century Rococo.

Pierre Auguste Renoir
(Limoges, 1841-1919, Cagnes)
Stillleben mit Dahlien, um 1885/1890
Öl auf Leinwand, 65 x 54 cm
Signiert unten links: Renoir
Dauberville 1659
Was von den Stillleben Renoirs im allgemeinen gilt, daß sie für den Künstler erfrischende Erholung von größeren Aufgaben bedeuten, trifft im besonderen auf seine Blumenstillleben zu, die er vor allem in der mittleren und späteren Zeit zahlreich gemalt hat.
Im Gegensatz zu Cézanne, bei dem das Malen von Blumen so selten war, weil sie seinem langsamen Malprozeß nicht standhielten, ist hier Renoir in seiner leichten und schnellen Malweise ganz in seinem Element. Und wie Vollard berichtet, wußte es Madame Renoir zu unterstützen, wenn sie aus den Gärten in Essoyes, ihrem Heimatort, oder von "Les Collettes" in Cagnes ihrem Mann die Blumen der Jahreszeiten ins Atelier stellte. "Wenn meine Frau einen Strauß zusammenstellt, brauche ich ihn nur noch zu malen", meinte dann Renoir.
Madame Renoir tat damit dasselbe wie später Charlotte Berend-Corinth, die für Lovis Corinth ein verführerisches Blumenstillleben im Atelier aufbaute, damit er malend seine Depressionen überwinden konnte.
Das verschwenderische Blühen dieser Dahlien mit ihren gefüllten Blüten und ihren spitz zulaufenden geschwungenen Blütenblättern, eingerahmt von dem wie Flammen züngelnden Blattwerk, gibt diesem, im engeren Sinne impressionistischen Bilde einen fast barocken Charakter, der an Delacroix gemahnt und Rocaillen des 18. Jahrhunderts ins Gedächtnis ruft.