Medieval Sculptures
The Virgin of Mercy
Follower of Michel Erhart
Ca. 1450/1500
114 cm
Emil Bührle's interest in art went back to his days as a student at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau. One series of lectures that remained in his memory was that given by Professor Wilhelm Vöge, who specialised in Gothic sculpture on French and German cathedrals. The last seminar that Bührle attended before being called up for military service in August 1914 drew comparisons between the cathedrals of Strasbourg and Freiburg.
So it isn't entirely surprising that, notwithstanding his love of modern French painting, Bührle the collector maintained a lasting interest in mediaeval sculpture. At the core of this part of his collection are works from the Gothic period from the region around Lake Constance, as well as Bavaria and the Tyrol. The figure in the Bührle collection known as the "Virgin of Mercy" is attributed to the circle of Master Michel Erhart, who was active in the south German city of Ulm. It has been dated to the Late Gothic period, between 1450 and 1500, when figures of saints were produced in unprecedented numbers.
According to Roman Catholic doctrine, saints could intervene on behalf of those who prayed to them. This role is vividly expressed here in the "Virgin of Mercy". The faithful, men and women in separated groups as in a church, are shown gathered under the cloak of the Virgin Mary, raising their hands in prayer. Their own robes identify them as belonging to the higher ranks of society and the clergy. The Virgin's cloak is held by two angels, which expresses its symbolic meaning as the starry firmament. Under it the faithful know they are safe – in confidence that Mary will obtain for them the blessing of her son, which is evident in the gesture made by the right hand of the baby Jesus.

Mittelalterliche Skulpturen
Schutzmantelmadonna
Nachfolger des Michel Erhart
Um 1450/1500
114 cm
Emil Bührles Beschäftigung mit Kunst reicht in seine Studienzeit an der Universität von Freiburg im Breisgau zurück. Bleibende Erinnerungen hinterliessen ihm die Vorlesungen von Professor Wilhelm Vöge. Dessen Spezialgebiet war die gotische Plastik an deutschen und französischen Kathedralen – das letzte Seminar, das Emil Bührle besuchte, bevor er im August 1914 zum Kriegsdienst eingezogen wurde, galt einem Vergleich der beiden Münster von Strassburg und Freiburg.
Unabhängig von seiner Vorliebe für Werke der modernen französischen Malerei sammelte Emil Bührle stets auch mittelalterliche Skulpturen. Im Zentrum der Sammlung stehen Arbeiten aus der Zeit der Gotik und aus den Gegenden rund um den Bodensee, aus Bayern und Tirol. Für die sogenannte "Schutzmantelmadonna" der Bührle-Sammlung wird angenommen, dass sie im Umkreis des in Ulm tätigen Meisters Michel Erhart entstanden ist, in der Zeit der späten Gotik zwischen 1450 und 1500, als Heiligenfiguren in nie zuvor gekannter Zahl produziert wurden.
Gemäss katholischer Lehre können Heilige als Fürsprecher zugunsten von Gläubigen auftreten. Diese Rolle ist im Bild von der "Schutzmantelmadonna" bildlich einleuchtend umgesetzt. Wie in einer Kirche nach Männern und Frauen getrennt, versammeln sich die Gläubigen unter dem Mantel der Muttergottes, und heben ihre Hände zum Gebet. Durch ihre Gewänder sind die Gläubigen als Angehörige gehobener weltlicher und kirchlicher Kreise gekennzeichnet. Zwei Engel halten den Mantel der Muttergottes. Sie geben dem Mantel damit auch eine symbolische Bedeutung als Himmelszelt, unter dem sich die Gläubigen geborgen wissen – im Vertrauen darauf, dass die Muttergottes den Segen ihres Sohnes erwirkt, wie das im Gestus der rechten Hand des Christuskindes zu erkennen ist.