The Museum
 
The museum of the Foundation at Zollikerstrasse 172 in Zurich
From 1960: Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection

On 24 February 1960, the collector’s widow and children, Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, Dr. Dieter Bührle and Hortense Anda-Bührle establish the Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection, domiciled in Zurich. They hand over three-fifths of the works from Emil Bührle’s collection to the Foundation based on a partition devised by Arthur Kauffmann. The partition ensures that the structure and integrity intended by the collector remain visible in the Foundation. The Foundation is established in the house on Zollikerstrasse 172 where the collector stored his pictures. The entire villa, which dates from 1886, is now converted into a museum and is opened to the public in June 1960.

In 1976, the house on Zollikerstrasse is thoroughly renovated. All the costs for operating and maintaining the museum continue to be met by the collector's family. To celebrate the centenary of Bührle’s birth, a selection of important pictures from the Foundation and the private collection is exhibited in 1990-91 at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montreal, the Yokohama City Museum and the Royal Academy of Arts in London.

On 10 February 2008, the museum falls prey to armed robbers. Four of the collection's major works are stolen from the Large Hall on the ground Floor, including Paul Cézanne's Boy with a Red Waistcoat and three paintings by Degas, van Gogh and Monet. The pictures by van Gogh and Monet are retrieved one week later in a nearby car park, the pictures by Cézanne and Degas are returned to the foundation in April 2012, after intensive investigations.

Le musée
 
Le musée de la fondation à Zollikerstrasse 172, Zurich
Depuis 1960: la Fondation Collection E.G. Bührle

Le 24 février 1960, la veuve du collectionneur et ses enfants, Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, Dr. Dieter Bührle et Hortense Anda-Bührle, créent la Fondation Collection E.G. Bührle dont le siège est à Zurich. Ils remettent trois cinquièmes des œuvres de la collection d’Emil Bührle à la fondation, sur la base d’un partage effectué par Arthur Kauffmann. Ce partage fait en sorte que la structure et l’exhaustivité recherchée par le collectionneur restent visibles dans la fondation. La fondation s’installe dans la maison de la Zollikerstrasse 172, qui servait au collectionneur à entreposer ses tableaux. La villa datant de 1886 est transformée, dans sa totalité, en musée et est accessible au public à partir de juin 1960.

En 1976, la maison de la Zollikerstrasse est minutieusement rénovée. La famille du fondateur continue à couvrir tous les frais d'exploitation et d’entretien du musée. À l’occasion du 100ème anniversaire du collectionneur, en 1990-91, une sélection d’œuvres importantes, provenant de la fondation et de prêts privés, est présentée à la National Gallery of Art à Washington, au Musée des Beaux-Arts à Montréal, au Yokohama City Museum et à la Royal Academy of Arts de Londres.

Le 10 février 2008, le musée de la fondation est victime d'un vol à main armée. Parmi les quatre œuvres majeures de la collection dérobées dans la grande salle du rez-de-chaussée se trouvent Paul Cézanne, Le Garçon au gilet rouge, ainsi que trois tableaux de Degas, van Gogh et Monet. Les tableaux de van Gogh et Monet son récupérés une semaine plus tard sur un parc de stationnement proche du musée. Les tableaux de Cézanne et Degas sont restitués à la fondation en avril 2012, après des enquêtes intensives.