The Museum
 
The museum of the Foundation at Zollikerstrasse 172 in Zurich
From 1960: Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection

On 24 February 1960, the collector’s widow and children, Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, Dr. Dieter Bührle and Hortense Anda-Bührle establish the Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection, domiciled in Zurich. They hand over three-fifths of the works from Emil Bührle’s collection to the Foundation based on a partition devised by Arthur Kauffmann. The partition ensures that the structure and integrity intended by the collector remain visible in the Foundation. The Foundation is established in the house on Zollikerstrasse 172 where the collector stored his pictures. The entire villa, which dates from 1886, is now converted into a museum and is opened to the public in June 1960.

In 1976, the house on Zollikerstrasse is thoroughly renovated. All the costs for operating and maintaining the museum continue to be met by the collector's family. To celebrate the centenary of Bührle’s birth, a selection of important pictures from the Foundation and the private collection is exhibited in 1990-91 at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montreal, the Yokohama City Museum and the Royal Academy of Arts in London.

On 10 February 2008, the museum falls prey to armed robbers. Four of the collection's major works are stolen from the Large Hall on the ground Floor, including Paul Cézanne's Boy with a Red Waistcoat and three paintings by Degas, van Gogh and Monet. The pictures by van Gogh and Monet are retrieved one week later in a nearby car park, the pictures by Cézanne and Degas are returned to the foundation in April 2012, after intensive investigations.

Das Museum
 
Das Museum der Stiftung an der Zollikerstrasse 172 in Zürich
Seit 1960: Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle

Am 24. Februar 1960 gründen die Witwe und die Kinder des Sammlers, Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, Dr. Dieter Bührle und Hortense Anda-Bührle die Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle mit Sitz in Zürich. Sie übergeben der Stiftung drei Fünftel der Werke aus Emil Bührles Sammlung aufgrund einer Teilung, die Arthur Kauffmann vorgenommen hat. Die Teilung stellt sicher, dass die vom Sammler angestrebte Struktur und Vollständigkeit in der Stiftung sichtbar bleiben. Die Stiftung wird in dem Haus an der Zollikerstrasse 172 eingerichtet, das dem Sammler zur Lagerung der Bilder diente. Die Villa aus dem Jahr 1886 wird jetzt als Ganzes zum Museum umgebaut und ist ab Juni 1960 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

1976 wird das Haus an der Zollikerstrasse gründlich renoviert. Weiterhin werden alle Kosten für Betrieb und Unterhalt des Museums von der Stifterfamilie getragen. Zum 100. Geburtstag des Sammlers wird 1990-1991 eine Auswahl wichtiger Bilder aus der Stiftung und aus Privatbesitz in der National Gallery of Art in Washington, im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montreal, im Yokohama City Museum und in der Royal Academy of Arts in London gezeigt.

Am 10. Februar 2008 wird das Museum der Stiftung Opfer eines bewaffneten Raubüberfalls. Vier Hauptwerke der Sammlung werden aus dem Grossen Saal im Erdgeschoss entwendet, darunter Paul Cézanne, Der Knabe mit der roten Weste, sowie drei Werke von Degas, van Gogh und Monet. Die Bilder von van Gogh und Monet werden eine Woche später auf einem nahegelegenen Parkplatz sichergestellt, die Bilder von Cézanne und Degas werden nach einer ausgedehnten Fahndung im April 2012 an die Stiftung zurückgegeben.