From 2020: The Bührle Collection in the Kunsthaus Zurich
 
The Bührle Collection in the Kunsthaus Zurich
© David Chipperfield Architects
On 25 November 2012, voters in the City of Zurich approved a loan of CHF 88 million as the city’s contribution to the construction of an extension for the Kunsthaus on Heimplatz. This sum covers approximately half of the building costs, with a further CHF 88 million coming from private donors and CHF 30 million from the Canton of Zurich. The plans for the extension were drawn up by the British architect David Chipperfield. His project emerged as the winner of an international competition, not least because it fittingly complements both the original 1910 Kunsthaus building designed by Karl Moser and the exhibition gallery endowed by Emil Bührle, and inaugurated in 1958.

Construction work has now begun, and the new building is scheduled to open in 2020. Thereafter, the Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection and the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft have agreed to embark on a new and close cooperation. The works belonging to the Bührle Foundation will be on permanent display in specially designed galleries on the second floor of the extension, in an exhibition that showcases the essence and scope of the Bührle Collection.

Like every collection put together by an individual, the collection of Emil Bührle is partly shaped by the era in which it came into being. It owes its significance not only to the outstanding masterpieces it contains, but also to the choice of artists which is typical of the mid-20th century.

Pursuing directions guided by contemporary views, Emil Bührle selected his own personal art history from the history of art in general, and represented it in his private collection. This approach differs fundamentally from that of a public collection, which is of necessity broader based and built up over a long period and, for that reason, is shaped by the preferences of multiple parties.

In view of the compact and systematic structure of Emil Bührle’s collection, the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft and the Bührle Foundation have decided that, for at least 15 years after the opening of the extension, the Bührle works will not be integrated into the relevant departments of the Kunsthaus collection but instead exhibited as a separate entity. This will be accompanied by a presentation of the historical circumstances and economic conditions that led to the creation of the Bührle Collection.

At the end of this period, it will be possible to assess whether a presentation of this kind is still attractive and comprehensible for visitors to the Kunsthaus, or whether new ways of meaningfully grouping images in museums have since been developed that suggest different approaches to exhibiting the collection of Emil Bührle.

Ab 2020: Die Sammlung Bührle im Kunsthaus Zürich
 
Erweiterung Kunsthaus Zürich, Bührle-Galerie
© David Chipperfield Architects
Am 25. November 2012 haben die Stimmberechtigten der Stadt Zürich einen Kredit von 88 Millionen Franken bewilligt, der als städtischer Beitrag den Bau eines Erweiterungsgebäudes für das Kunsthaus am Heimplatz möglich macht. Das entspricht beinahe der Hälfte der Baukosten, weitere 88 Millionen werden von privater Seite gespendet, und 30 Millionen trägt der Kanton Zürich bei. Der Erweiterungsbau wird nach Plänen des britischen Architekten David Chipperfield erstellt. Sein Projekt ging nicht zuletzt deshalb als Sieger aus einem internationalen Wettbewerb hervor, weil es sowohl den originalen Kunsthaus-Bau von Karl Moser von 1910 wie auch den von Emil Bührle gestifteten Ausstellungssaal von 1958 in geeigneter Weise ergänzt.

Die Bauarbeiten haben begonnen und der Bau soll 2020 bezogen werden. Die Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle und die Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft sind übereingekommen, auf diesen Zeitpunkt hin eine neue, enge Form der Zusammenarbeit einzugehen. Die Werke der Stiftung Bührle werden dann in eigens für sie entworfenen Sälen im 2. Obergeschoss des Erweiterungsbaus permanent und in einer Weise gezeigt, die das Wesen und die Umrisse der Sammlung Bührle sichtbar macht.

Wie jede individuelle Sammlung ist auch die Sammlung Emil Bührles vom Geist der Zeit mitbestimmt worden, in der sie entstanden ist. Sie verdankt ihre Bedeutung nicht nur ihren herausragenden Meisterwerken, sondern ebenso sehr auch der Auswahl der Künstler, die für die Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts sehr typisch ist.

Indem er mit den Augen seiner eigenen Zeit bestimmten Entwicklungslinien folgte, hat Emil Bührle aus der Kunstgeschichte insgesamt eine persönliche Kunstgeschichte ausgewählt und in seiner Sammlung dargestellt. Das Vorgehen unterscheidet die private Sammlung grundsätzlich von einer öffentlichen Sammlung. Diese muss breiter angelegt sein, wächst über einen langen Zeitraum und wird schon darum von vielen Beteiligten mitbestimmt.

Im Hinblick auf den geschlossenen und systematischen Aufbau der Sammlung von Emil Bührle haben die Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft und die Stiftung Bührle beschlossen, die Werke der Sammlung Bührle auf mindestens 15 Jahre ab Eröffnung des Erweiterungsbaus nicht in die jeweiligen Abteilungen der Kunsthaus-Sammlung zu integrieren, sondern sie als Einheit zu zeigen. In enger Verbindung damit werden auch die historischen Umstände und die wirtschaftlichen Voraussetzungen dargestellt, die zur Entstehung der Sammlung Bührle führten.

Danach kann geprüft werden, ob diese Art der Präsentation für die Besucher im Kunsthaus Zürich weiterhin attraktiv und verständlich ist, oder ob inzwischen neue Formen für die sinnstiftende Gruppierung von Bildern in Museen entwickelt wurden und ob darum eventuell andere Wege für eine Ausstellung der Sammlung Emil Bührle eingeschlagen werden.