Since 1960: Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection, Zurich
 
The museum of the Foundation 1960–2016
On 24 February 1960 Emil Bührle’s widow Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, his son Dr. Dieter Bührle and his daughter Hortense Anda-Bührle established the Foundation E.G. Bührle Collection in Zurich. They transferred a portion of the holdings, comprising 167 paintings and pastels as well as 31 sculptures, to the Foundation based on an arrangement drawn up by the London-based art dealer Arthur Kaufmann, who had been a particularly close associate of Emil Bührle. The division ensured that the structure and integrity which the collector had striven to achieve remained visible in the Foundation. A further 20 paintings and 7 sculptures were handed over to the Foundation for sale.

The Foundation’s collection was installed in a former residential property at Zollikerstrasse 172. It was adjacent to Emil Bührle’s house, and Bührle had long used the first floor of the building to store his pictures and sculptures. The villa, dating from 1886, was now entirely converted into a museum and opened to the public in April 1960. The costs of operation and maintenance were borne by the founders.

The year 1961 saw an exhibition of 78 masterpieces from the collection of Emil Bührle at the Royal Scottish Academy in Edinburgh and the National Gallery in London. This was followed in 1963 by a smaller presentation at the Kunstmuseum in Lucerne, which once again showed pictures from the Foundation’s holdings as well as the works from the collection that had stayed with the family. A complete scholarly catalogue of the Foundation’s collection (2nd edition 1986) was published in 1973 by Artemis-Verlag, a publishing house owned by the collector’s family. The Foundation’s museum was comprehensively renovated in 1976.

In 1980 Hortense Anda-Bührle took over as President of the Foundation. She organised a collection tour featuring important works from the Foundation and the private holdings to commemorate the centennial of her father’s birth; it travelled to the National Gallery of Art in Washington, the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montreal, the Yokohama Museum of Art and the Royal Academy of Arts in London during 1990-91.

Between 1999 and 2002 the collector’s grandson Dr. Christian Bührle was responsible for a series of cabinet exhibitions on the Foundation’s premises that centred around pictures from the collection: Sisley und die Brücke von Hampton Court; Messaline und Toulouse-Lautrec aus Schweizer Sammlungen; Der Blaue Reiter.

In 2002 Dr. Lukas Gloor was entrusted with the management of the Foundation as its director and curator. He edited a three-volume complete catalogue of the collection which was published by Linea d’Ombra in 2004-05. Small exhibitions centring on individual pictures (Van Gogh echt falsch; Mme Cézanne aus dem Besitz von Gertrude Stein) highlighted specific aspects of the collection, and visitor numbers rose to 12,000 a year.

On 10 February 2008, the Foundation’s museum fell victim to an armed robbery. Four key works by Cézanne, Degas, van Gogh and Monet were stolen. Whilst the van Gogh and the Monet were retrieved shortly thereafter, the other two remained lost until they were recovered during a major police operation in Belgrade in April 2012.

In 2014, Christian Bührle became President of the Foundation. On 31 May 2015 the Foundation closed the museum at Zollikerstrasse 172, as it had proved impossible to equip it with the security measures necessary for regular opening.

In 2016, the Foundation received 10 important paintings from the collection of Emil Bührle as a bequest by the collector's son, Dr. Dieter Bührle.

Seit 1960: Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle, Zürich
 
Das Museum der Stiftung 1960–2016
Am 24. Februar 1960 gründeten die Witwe sowie Sohn und Tochter von Emil Bührle, Charlotte Bührle-Schalk, Dr. Dieter Bührle und Hortense Anda-Bührle die Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle mit Sitz in Zürich. Sie übergaben der Stiftung aus dem Gesamtbestand der Sammlung 167 Gemälde und Pastelle und 31 Skulpturen aufgrund einer Teilung, die der Emil Bührle besonders nahestehende Kunsthändler Arthur Kauffmann, London, erarbeitet hatte. Die Teilung stellte sicher, dass die vom Sammler angestrebte Struktur und Vollständigkeit in der Stiftung sichtbar blieben. 20 Gemälde und 7 Skulpturen wurden der Stiftung ausserdem zum Verkauf überlassen.

Die Sammlung der Stiftung wurde in einem ehemaligen Wohnhaus an der Zollikerstrasse 172 eingerichtet. Es war dem Haus Emil Bührles benachbart, und Bührle hatte das erste Stockwerk seit langem zur Lagerung seiner Bilder und Skulpturen benutzt. Die Villa aus dem Jahr 1886 wurde als Ganzes zum Museum umgebaut und ab April 1960 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Die Kosten für Betrieb und Unterhalt des Museums trugen die Stifter.

1961 fand eine Ausstellung mit 78 Meisterwerken der Sammlung Emil Bührle in der Royal Scottish Academy in Edinburg und in der National Gallery in London statt. Eine kleinere Ausstellung folgte 1963 im Kunstmuseum Luzern und zeigte erneut Bilder sowohl aus dem Bestand der Stiftung und wie auch aus dem an die Familie gefallenen Teil der Sammlung. 1973 erschien in dem der Stifterfamilie gehörenden Artemis-Verlag ein wissenschaftlicher Gesamtkatalog der Stiftungs-Sammlung (2. Auflage 1986). 1976 wurde das Museum der Stiftung umfassend renoviert.

1980 übernahm Hortense Anda-Bührle das Präsidium der Stiftung. Sie veranlasste zum 100. Geburtstag ihres Vaters eine Tournee der Sammlung mit bedeutenden Bildern aus der Stiftung und aus Privatbesitz, die 1990–91 in der National Gallery of Art in Washington, im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Montreal, im Yokohama Museum of Art und in der Royal Academy of Arts in London gezeigt wurden.

Zwischen 1999 und 2002 war der Enkel des Sammlers, Dr. Christian Bührle, verantwortlich für eine Reihe von Kabinett-Ausstellungen in den Räumen der Stiftung, in deren Mittelpunkt Bilder der Sammlung standen: Sisley und die Brücke von Hampton Court; Messaline und Toulouse-Lautrec aus Schweizer Sammlungen; Der Blaue Reiter.

2002 wurde Dr. Lukas Gloor als Direktor und Kurator mit der Leitung der Stiftung betraut. Im Verlag Linea d'Ombra erschien 2004–05 ein von ihm herausgegebener dreibändiger Gesamtkatalog der Sammlung. Ausserdem wurde die Tradition der kleinen Ausstellungen fortgesetzt (Van Gogh echt falsch; Mme Cézanne aus der Sammlung Gertrude Stein) und die Zahl der Besucher bis auf 12'000 jährlich gesteigert.

Am 10. Februar 2008 wurde das Museum der Stiftung Opfer eines bewaffneten Raubüberfalls. Vier Hauptwerke der Sammlung von Cézanne, Degas, van Gogh und Monet wurden entwendet. Die Bilder von van Gogh und Monet wurden wenig später wiedergefunden, die beiden anderen wurden bei einer grossangelegten Polizeiaktion im April 2012 in Belgrad fast unbeschädigt sichergestellt.

2014 übernahm Dr. Christian Bührle das Präsidium der Stiftung. Am 31. Mai 2015 schloss die Stiftung das Museum im Haus Zollikerstrasse 172, da es sich als unmöglich erwies, das Haus mit der nötigen Sicherheit für reguläre Öffnungszeiten auszurüsten.

2016 konnte die Stiftung 10 bedeutende Bilder aus der Sammlung Emil Bührles als Vermächtnis von dessen Sohn, Dr. Dieter Bührle, entgegennehmen.