Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
Emil Bührle, ca. 1924


1924-1929: First years in Switzerland

At the beginning of 1924, Emil Bührle arrives in Zurich, where his employer has taken over the Schweizerische Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon (Swiss Machine Tool Factory Oerlikon) the previous year. In the summer of 1924, Bührle acquires the patent for a 20-mm gun developed by the German engineer Reinhold Becker from the bankruptcy assets of Maschinenbau AG Seebach (Seebach Engineering Ltd). This step is taken in connection with the so-called “covert German armament”, which takes place in production plants outside Germany, in the Netherlands, Sweden, and Switzerland, after the Treaty of Versailles enforces an almost complete prohibition of the German armaments industry. With financial aid from the German Ordnance Department of the German Military Command in Berlin, the “Becker cannon” is subsequently technically perfected in Oerlikon. Thanks to a delivery of 120 guns to China to General Chiang Kai-shek, the Oerlikon factory becomes an important client for suppliers in Switzerland, including the weapons factories of the Swiss Army. In 1929, Bührle’s father-in-law Ernst Schalk becomes a majority shareholder in the company. Emil Bührle lives at various addresses in the City of Zurich with his family, which has now grown to four members.

1930-1939: Self-employed entrepreneur, first art acquisitions

Emil Bührle acquires licensees for his company in Italy, Germany and Japan; contracts in Europe and South America distribute the anti-aircraft guns from Oerlikon throughout the world. In 1938, Emil Bührle becomes the sole owner of the joint-stock company Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co. (Machine Tool Factory Oerlikon Bührle & Co.), which he henceforth runs independently as a shareholder with unlimited liability. When Germany openly begins to rearm under the Nazi regime, German armaments companies offer stiff competition for Switzerland’s armaments industry. This renders the large orders received as of 1938 by the Oerlikon factory and other manufacturers in Switzerland from Belgium, France and the United Kingdom all the more significant. In the same year, a new article in the constitution for the first time imposes control of the production and export of war materiel on the Swiss Federal Council.

In March 1937, Emil Bührle acquires Swiss citizenship and moves into a large house on Zollikerstrasse in Zurich with his family at the end of the year. With this in mind, he starts to purchase pictures for his living quarters as of November 1936. These acquisitions include works by French painters of the Barbizon School such as Camille Corot, Adolph Monticelli and Narcisse Diaz de la Peña, but also by classic impressionist artists like Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro, Auguste Renoir and Alfred Sisley. Emil Bührle buys most of his pictures from the Zurich gallery owned by Toni Aktuaryus. He acquires more expensive paintings from Siegfried Rosengart in Lucerne, including works by Edouard Manet, Vincent van Gogh and Paul Cézanne. In 1938, Emil Bührle buys the neighbouring house at Zollikerstrasse 172. Part of it is inhabited by his parents-in-law, and part of it is used to store pictures. In 1939, the Hotel zum Storchen built by Emil Bührle is opened in the centre of Zurich. It incorporates the guildhall of the Zurich Mariners’ Guild.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 : entrepreneur et collectionneur d'art
Emil Bührle, vers 1924


1924-1929 : les premières années en Suisse

Début 1924, Emil Bührle arrive à Zurich, où son employeur a racheté l’année précédente l’usine suisse de machines-outils Oerlikon. Au cours de l’été 1924, Bührle acquiert, dans l’actif de la faillite de la société Maschinenbau AG Seebach, le brevet d'une pièce d’artillerie de 20mm, développée par l’ingénieur allemand Reinhold Becker. Cette étape se fait dans le cadre de « l’armement clandestin de l’Allemagne », qui, après que le Traité de Versailles ait imposé une quasi interdiction de l’industrie d’armement allemande, s’est déplacé sur des sites de production dans des pays neutres comme la Hollande, la Suède et la Suisse. Avec l’aide financière de l’Inspection des armes et des équipements du Haut-Commandement allemand à Berlin, le « canon Becker » est ensuite perfectionné techniquement à Oerlikon. Avec la livraison de 120 pièces d’artillerie à la Chine du général Tschang Kai-Chek, l’usine d’Oerlikon devient un donneur d’ordre important pour des sous-traitants en Suisse, dont les usines d’armement de l’armée suisse. En 1929, le beau-père de Bührle, Ernst Schalk, acquiert la majorité des actions de l’entreprise. Emil Bührle réside avec sa famille, qui se compose désormais de quatre membres, à plusieurs adresses en ville de Zurich.

1930-1939 : entrepreneur indépendant et premiers achats d’art

Emil Bührle trouve des preneurs de licence pour son entreprise en Italie et en Allemagne ; des marchés au Japon et en Amérique du sud diffusent le système de défense antiaérienne d’Oerlikon dans le monde entier. En 1938 Emil Bührle devient l’unique propriétaire de la société en commandite « Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co. », qu’il dirige dorénavant de façon indépendante en tant que sociétaire indéfiniment responsable. Avec le début du réarmement ouvert de l’Allemagne, les usines d’armement allemandes deviennent des concurrentes importantes pour l’industrie d’armement suisse. Les gros contrats reçus par l’usine d’Oerlikon et d’autres producteurs en Suisse à partir de 1938 et provenant de Belgique, de France et de Grande-Bretagne en sont d’autant plus importants. Cette même année, un nouvel article de la constitution impose pour la première fois au Conseil fédéral le contrôle de la production et de l’exportation de matériel de guerre.

Emil Bührle obtient la nationalité suisse en mars 1937, et à la fin de l’année il emménage avec sa famille dans une grande maison à la Zollikerstrasse à Zurich. C’est dans cette perspective que les premiers achats de tableaux ont débuté en novembre 1936. Il s’agit de tableaux de peintres français proches de l’École de Barbizon comme Camille Corot, Adolph Monticelli et Narcisse Diaz de la Peña, mais aussi d'impressionnistes classiques tels que Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro, Auguste Renoir et Alfred Sisley. Emil Bührle fait la plupart de ces achats à la galerie de Toni Aktuaryus à Zurich. Il acquiert des tableaux plus onéreux chez Siegfried Rosengart à Lucerne, parmi lesquels des œuvres d’Edouard Manet, de Vincent van Gogh et de Paul Cézanne. En 1938, Emil Bührle achète la maison voisine, à la Zollikerstrasse 172. Celle-ci sert d'une part de logement à ses beaux-parents, d'autre part à l'entreposage des tableaux. En 1939, l’hôtel zum Storchen, construit par Emile Bührle, est inauguré dans la vieille ville de Zurich. Il accueille la salle de réunion de la corporation des bateliers.