Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
Dmitri Kessel, Emil Bührle in his collection, 1954
© gettyimages


31 August 1890

Emil Georg Bührle is born in Pforzheim as the son of a civil servant from Baden. He attends secondary school, where he first discovers his enthusiasm for art and literature.

1909-1914: Studies

Emil Bührle enrols at the Grand Ducal Albert Ludwig University in Freiburg im Breisgau to study philology, attending lectures and courses on German and English literature. In the 1910/11 winter semester he transfers to the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich. There he also enrols for two lecture series on art history and visits exhibitions and museums in the Bavarian capital. In 1911 Emil Bührle continues his studies in Freiburg, now regularly attending lectures on gothic sculpture given by Professor Wilhelm Vöge. In 1913, Emil Bührle visits the National Gallery in Berlin, where he sees the pictures by French Impressionists acquired by Hugo von Tschudi for the museum despite the vehement opposition of the German Kaiser, Wilhelm II. In Emil Bührle's memory, this encounter was later to crystallise as the decisive moment at which his lifelong fascination with the works of these painters began.

1914-1918: First World War

The First World War breaks out at the beginning of August 1914, and Emil Bührle is called up by the Third Baden Regiment of Dragoons. In July 1916 he is promoted to the rank of lieutenant and takes over the command of a machine-gun train deployed in the war zones of the German Eastern and Western fronts. Bührle makes the acquaintance of the art historian Arthur Kauffmann in Romania.

1919-1923: Starts a family and enters professional life

After the armistice of November 1918 and the collapse of the German Empire, parts of the German army remain mobilised in order to confront revolutionary unrest throughout Germany. Emil Bührle is transferred with his unit to Magdeburg, where he is quartered in the house of the banker Ernst Schalk. He becomes engaged to Schalk's daughter Charlotte in October 1919 and joins the Magdeburger Werkzeug- und Maschinenfabrik AG (Magdeburg Tool and Machine Factory), in which his father-in-law is a stakeholder. After his marriage in 1920, Emil Bührle transfers to a subsidiary of the Magdeburg factory in Stolberg am Harz, where he familiarises himself with the technical aspects of his new position.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 : entrepreneur et collectionneur d'art
Dmitri Kessel, Emil Bührle dans sa collection, 1954
© gettyimages


31 août 1890

Emil Georg Bührle, fils d’un fonctionnaire badois, naît à Pforzheim. Il fréquente le lycée et commence à se passionner pour l’art et la littérature.

1909-1914 : études

Emil Bührle s’inscrit en philologie à l’Université Albert-Ludwig du Grand-Duché de Bade à Fribourg en Breisgau. Il suit les cours et les séminaires de littérature allemande et anglaise. Au semestre d’hiver 1910/11, il intègre l’Université Ludwig-Maximilian à Munich où il s’inscrit aussi à deux cours d’histoire de l’art. Il visite les expositions et les musées de la capitale bavaroise. Dès 1911, Emil Bührle poursuit ses études à Fribourg, où il suit maintenant régulièrement des cours sur la sculpture gothique auprès du professeur Wilhelm Vöge. En 1913, Bührle visite la Galerie Nationale à Berlin et y voit les tableaux des peintres impressionnistes français, achetés récemment par Hugo von Tschudi. Le souvenir du violent rejet subi par Tschudi, directeur de la Galerie Nationale, par l'empereur d'Allemagne en personne devant ces toiles est très vivace dans l'esprit de l'époque et influence la fascination qu' Emil Bührle éprouvera pour l'art de l'impressionnisme jusqu' à la fin de sa vie.

1914-1918 : première guerre mondiale

Début août 1914, la première guerre mondiale éclate et Emil Bührle est incorporé au troisième régiment de dragons de Bade. En juillet 1916, il est promu au rang de lieutenant et prend le commandement d'un peloton de mitrailleurs ; il est posté sur les fronts est et ouest de l’Allemagne. En Roumanie, Bührle fait la connaissance de l’historien d’art Arthur Kauffmann.

1919-1923 : fondation d'une famille et entrée dans la vie professionnelle

Après l’armistice de novembre 1918 et l’effondrement de l’empire allemand, des unités de l’armée allemande restent mobilisées afin de contrer les troubles révolutionnaires qui éclatent dans tout le pays. Emil Bührle est cantonné avec son unité à Magdebourg et logé dans la maison du banquier Ernst Schalk. Il se fiance à sa fille, Charlotte Schalk, en octobre 1919 et intègre l’usine de machines-outils de Magdebourg, dans laquelle son beau-père a une participation. Après son mariage en 1920, Emil Bührle est muté à Stolberg am Harz, dans une entreprise annexe de l’usine de Magdebourg, où il se familiarise avec l’aspect technique de sa nouvelle fonction.