Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
Emil Bührle, 1956


1951-1956: International entrepreneur – international collector

Emil Bührle expands his enterprise into a diverse corporation, and his holdings include participations in companies in Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Chile and India. Anti-aircraft systems manufactured by Oerlikon Bührle’s subsidiary Contraves in Italy and Sweden are deployed by various NATO powers. Pilatus Aircraft Ltd in Stans develops a series of training aircraft for the Swiss Army. There are successes with the manufacture of civilian products such as braking systems, office machines, textile machines and plastics. In 1953, extensive plants are constructed for Oerlikon Tools and Arms Corporation of America in Asheville (North Carolina). In October 1956, Emil Bührle celebrates the fiftieth anniversary of Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon with the employees of the company headquarters.

The number of works acquired increases by leaps and bounds, and now amounts to about 100 pictures and sculptures each year. Frequent trips abroad enable Bührle to purchase works – frequently entire groups of pictures – from a small circle of leading dealers in New York, London and Paris: Paul Rosenberg, Germain Seligmann, Georges Wildenstein, Max Kaganovitch and Frank K. Lloyd. Bührle has a particularly trusting relationship with Arthur Kauffmann in London and Fritz Nathan in Zurich. In June 1954, Emil Bührle gives a presentation with slides at the University of Zurich entitled Vom Werden meiner Sammlung (On the genesis of my collection), in which he describes his own historic position within the critical reception of French Impressionism and describes the art-historical principles according to which he selected the older works in his collection. At the same time, Bührle includes precursors of his own day’s abstract painting by acquiring works by the Fauves and Cubists. He also continues to collect gothic sculpture, particularly from the Lake Constance and Alpine regions.

Following a referendum, construction of the exhibition hall on Heimplatz donated by Emil Bührle to the Kunsthaus Zurich begins at the end of 1954. The benefactor’s collection is to be exhibited there for the opening, and Emil Bührle delays decisions regarding a permanent presentation of his collection in view of this project. Although he is generally generous when it comes to loaning pictures, he becomes more reserved with regard to the exhibition in Zurich.

From 1951 to 1952, Oskar Kokoschka paints a portrait of Emil Bührle. In 1952 and 1953, instead of the “Prize for Swiss Painting”, a competition for the “Prix Buhrle” is organised in Paris. Bührle does not make the selections himself as he would for his own collection, but appoints a jury consisting of representatives of Paris’s artistic life. The finalists are typical exponents of the “Ecole de Paris”, which is soon to decline in importance.

28 November 1956

Emil Bührle dies in Zurich, without having given any directions concerning the continued existence of his collection. From June to September 1958, the majority of Emil Bührle’s collection is exhibited in the newly opened wing of the Kunsthaus Zurich.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 als Unternehmer und als Kunstsammler
Emil Bührle, 1956


1951-1956: Internationaler Unternehmer – internationaler Sammler

Emil Bührle baut sein Unternehmen zu einem weitgefächerten Konzern aus und ist an Gesellschaften in Deutschland, Italien, Liechtenstein, Chile und Indien beteiligt. Fliegerabwehrsysteme der Tochterfirma Contraves stehen bei verschiedenen Mitgliedern der Nato im Einsatz und werden in Italien und in Schweden hergestellt. Die Pilatus Flugzeugwerke in Stans entwickeln eine Reihe von Schulflugzeugen für die Schweizer Armee. Im zivilen Bereich gelingen Erfolge mit Bremssystemen, Büromaschinen, Textilmaschinen und Kunststoffen. 1953 werden in Asheville (North Carolina) weitläufige Anlagen für die Oerlikon Tools and Arms Corporation of America errichtet. Im Oktober 1956 feiert Emil Bührle mit den Mitarbeitern des Stammhauses das 50-jährige Bestehen der Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon.

Die Zahl der erworbenen Werke steigt sprunghaft an und umfasst von jetzt an gegen 100 Bilder und Skulpturen pro Jahr. Häufige Auslandreisen ermöglichen Käufe – oft ganzer Bildergruppen – bei einem kleinen Kreis führender Händler in New York, London und Paris: Paul Rosenberg, Germain Seligmann, Georges Wildenstein, Max Kaganovitch und Frank K. Lloyd. Ein besonderes Vertrauensverhältnis verbindet Bührle mit Arthur Kauffmann in London und Fritz Nathan in Zürich. Im Juni 1954 hält Emil Bührle an der Universität Zürich einen Dia-Vortrag: Vom Werden meiner Sammlung. Er schildert darin die eigene historische Stellung innerhalb der Rezeption des französischen Impressionismus und erläutert die kunsthistorischen Prinzipien, die ihn bei der Auswahl der älteren Kunst leiteten. Mit Bildern der Fauves und der Kubisten fügt Bührle gleichzeitig Vorläufer der aktuellen abstrakten Malerei ein; daneben sammelt er kontinuierlich gotische Skulpturen vor allem aus dem Bodensee- und dem Alpenraum.

Nach einer Volksabstimmung kann Ende 1954 mit dem Bau des Ausstellungssaals am Heimplatz begonnen werden, den Emil Bührle dem Kunsthaus Zürich schenkt. Zur Eröffnung soll die Sammlung des Stifters dort gezeigt werden, und Emil Bührle schiebt Entscheidungen für eine dauerhafte Präsentation seiner Sammlung hinaus. Obwohl er im Allgemeinen ein grosszügiger Leihgeber ist, wird er im Hinblick auf die Zürcher Ausstellung zurückhaltender.

1951-1952 malt Oskar Kokoschka ein Porträt von Emil Bührle. 1952 und 1953 wird anstelle des "Preises für Schweizer Malerei" in Paris ein Wettbewerb um den "Prix Buhrle" veranstaltet. Anders als für die eigene Sammlung trifft Bührle die Auswahl dabei nicht selbst, sondern beauftragt eine Jury aus Vertretern des Pariser Kunstlebens. Preisträger sind typische Exponenten der "Ecole de Paris", die bald an Bedeutung verlieren wird.

28. November 1956

Emil Bührle stirbt in Zürich. Er hat für den Fortbestand seiner Kunstsammlung keine Verfügung getroffen. Von Juni bis September 1958 ist im Andenken an Emil Bührle der grösste Teil seiner Sammlung im neueröffneten Flügel des Kunsthauses Zürich ausgestellt.