Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
Emil Bührle, ca. 1950


1945-1951: The post-war years

At the end of the war, Emil Bührle is confronted not only with a blanket export ban on war materiel, but also with the fact that his company has long been on the Western Allies' "black list". However, even before official deletion from the list in 1946, experts from the British Army have Oerlikon Bührle & Co. demonstrate the latest developments. In 1947, Emil Bührle stays in Chicago, where he conducts negotiations to supply the United States. He is unsuccessful in his attempts to obtain retroactive licensing fees for Oerlikon guns produced in the United States during the war. As of 1949, the Federal Council unilaterally relaxes the general export ban on war materiel towards the Western powers in order to position Switzerland in the incipient “Cold War” between the Eastern and Western blocs. In 1949 Emil Bührle establishes the Industrie- und Handelsbank Zürich (Industry and Trading Bank Zurich), which is headquartered in the Bleicherhof building belonging to him.

The number of paintings acquired decreases temporarily, but purchases include pictures that reveal Emil Bührle's increasingly ambitious attitude to collecting. In 1948 he takes over the pledged "Boy in the Red Waistcoat" by Paul Cézanne from the collection of the indebted G. F. Reber in Lausanne, and in 1949 acquires "La petite Irène" by Auguste Renoir from the sitter, Countess Irène Sampieri(-Camondo)-Cahen d'Anvers.

As of 1948, lawsuits establish the ownership of the pictures purloined in France at the chamber newly set up to assess the issue of looted art at the Swiss Federal Court in Lausanne. Emil Bührle owns 13 of the 77 pictures stolen in France and retrieved in Switzerland. The lawsuit between him and the dealer Paul Rosenberg, who now lives in New York, is the first to be concluded; other court decisions are taken in 1949. Emil Bührle subsequently proposes to buy the pictures from their owners a second time. Of the 13 looted paintings, nine thus become Bührle’s rightful property, and he returns the remaining four. The last transaction is concluded in February 1951. Emil Bührle's right of recourse is protected, as the Swiss Federal Court comes to the conclusion that Bührle could not have known about the pictures having been stolen in France.

In 1945, Emil Bührle establishes the Goethe Foundation for Art and Science. The same year, the Zurich Art Society organises the competition for a "Prize for Swiss Art" endowed by Bührle. In 1949, Emil Bührle donates Auguste Rodin's Gates of Hell to the Kunsthaus, paying for the sculpture with funds dedicated to the planned extension. Two large-format pictures of water lilies by Claude Monet selected for the Kunsthaus by Emil Bührle during a 1951 visit to Giverny are also acquired by the building fund.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 als Unternehmer und als Kunstsammler
Emil Bührle, um 1950


1945-1951: Die Nachkriegsjahre

Bei Kriegsende sieht sich Emil Bührle nicht nur mit einem generellen Exportverbot für Kriegsmaterial konfrontiert, sondern auch damit, dass seine Firma seit längerem auf der "Schwarzen Liste" der West-Alliierten figuriert. Noch vor der offiziellen Aufhebung des Listen-Eintrags lassen sich aber Experten der britischen Armee 1946 neue Entwicklungen der Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co. vorführen. 1947 verhandelt Emil Bührle in Chicago über Lieferungen an die USA. Erfolglos bleibt sein Versuch, nachträgliche Lizenzzahlungen für die während des Krieges in den USA produzierten Oerlikon-Geschütze zu erhalten. Das generelle Ausfuhrverbot für Kriegsmaterial wird ab 1949 vom Bundesrat einseitig gegenüber den Westmächten gelockert, um die Schweiz im beginnenden "Kalten Krieg" zwischen Ost- und Westblock zu positionieren. 1949 gründet Emil Bührle die Industrie- und Handelsbank Zürich mit Sitz in dem ihm gehörenden Bleicherhof.

Die Zahl der erworbenen Bilder geht vorübergehend zurück, doch befinden sich unter den Käufen Bilder, die zeigen, dass Emil Bührle mit immer grösserem Ehrgeiz sammelt. 1948 übernimmt er den verpfändeten "Knaben mit der roten Weste" von Paul Cézanne aus der Sammlung des verschuldeten G. F. Reber in Lausanne, 1949 erwirbt er "La petite Irène" von Auguste Renoir von der Porträtierten, der Gräfin Irène Sampieri(-Camondo)-Cahen d'Anvers.

Viel Aufmerksamkeit ziehen ab 1948 die Prozesse auf sich, mit denen die neu eingerichtete Kammer zur Beurteilung von Raubkunstfragen beim Schweizerischen Bundesgericht in Lausanne die Besitzverhältnisse der in Frankreich entwendeten Bilder klärt. Von den 77 in der Schweiz sichergestellten, in Frankreich gestohlenen Bildern besitzt Emil Bührle 13. Der Prozess zwischen ihm und dem inzwischen in New York lebenden Händler Paul Rosenberg wird als erster zum Abschluss gebracht; weitere Gerichtsentscheide folgen 1949. Danach macht Emil Bührle den Besitzern das Angebot, die Bilder ein zweites Mal zu kaufen. Von den 13 Raubkunst-Bildern gehen auf diese Weise 9 in Bührles rechtmässiges Eigentum über, 4 gibt er zurück. Die letzte Transaktion ist im Februar 1951 abgeschlossen. Emil Bührles Regressansprüche werden geschützt, da das Schweizerische Bundesgericht zum Schluss kommt, dass Bührle vom Bilderraub in Frankreich nicht gewusst haben konnte.

1945 gründet Emil Bührle die Goethe-Stiftung für Kunst und Wissenschaft. Im gleichen Jahr übernimmt die Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft die Durchführung des von Bührle gestifteten "Preises für Schweizer Malerei". 1949 schenkt Emil Bührle dem Kunsthaus das Höllentor von Auguste Rodin, das er aus dem Baufonds für den geplanten Erweiterungsbau bezahlen lässt. Ebenfalls aus dem Baufonds angekauft werden zwei grosse Seerosen-Bilder von Claude Monet, die Emil Bührle 1951 bei einem Besuch in Giverny für das Kunsthaus ausgesucht hat.