Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
The Machine Tool Factory Oerlikon Bührle & Co.


1939-1945: Second World War

The German occupation of France in the summer of 1940 prevents Oerlikon Bührle & Co from continuing to supply the British and French armies. For political reasons and supported by the new article in the Swiss Constitution governing the origins and distribution of war materiel, the Swiss military authorities prompt Emil Bührle to supply Germany with guns and ammunition. Based on plans sold by Bührle to the British Admiralty before the war, Oerlikon guns are also produced in Britain and the United States at the same time. For large deliveries to Germany and Italy, the Oerlikon factory at times employs considerably more than 3,000 staff. On 26 September 1944, the Swiss Federal Council imposes a complete export ban on war materiel, which remains in force for almost a year. Emil Bührle continues to occupy his development department and specialist employees, and invests increasingly in civilian products.

In the war years, Emil Bührle acquires approximately 100 pictures, mostly by French painters of the 19th century. In the autumn of 1941, he buys five paintings in Paris. In 1942/43, he acquires, among other works, twelve pictures by French impressionist artists from Galerie Fischer in Lucerne and Galerie Aktuaryus in Zurich which, shortly after the end of the war, are discovered to have been stolen from their Jewish owners by German officials. The German Reichsmarschall Hermann Göring had subsequently deposited them in Switzerland for use in barter transactions. A last looted picture enters Bührle’s collection in the summer of 1944 through a private intermediary.

In 1941, Emil Bührle offers the Zurich Art Society the prospect of an endowment of two million Swiss francs with which to fund an extension for the Kunsthaus on Heimplatz. In 1943 he is the most important lender for an exhibition of "Foreign Art in Zurich" shown at the Kunsthaus. When a canteen is built in Oerlikon, Bührle commissions large-scale murals from leading Swiss artists. Numerous pictures by contemporary Swiss painters are also displayed at the factory, although Bührle keeps them strictly separate from his collection of international artists.

The wartime regulations governing extensions to industrial premises prompt Emil Bührle to acquire agricultural land in the Maggia Delta in the Ticino, where he establishes a model plant. The neighbouring “Castello del Sole” is later converted into a hotel. In 1942, the Old-Catholic church erected with Emil Bührle’s help is consecrated in Oerlikon. Bührle also contributes pictures and sculptures to decorate the interior of the church.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 als Unternehmer und als Kunstsammler
Die Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co.


1939-1945: Zweiter Weltkrieg

Die deutsche Besetzung Frankreichs im Sommer 1940 verhindert weitere Lieferungen der Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co. an die britische und die französische Armee. Gestützt auf den neuen Verfassungsartikel zur Kontrolle über Herkunft und Vertrieb von Kriegsmaterial und mit Rücksicht auf politische Überlegungen veranlasst die Schweizer Militärbehörde Emil Bührle, Geschütze und Munition nach Deutschland zu liefern. Aufgrund von Plänen, die Bührle vor dem Krieg der britischen Admiralität verkauft hat, werden zur gleichen Zeit Oerlikon-Geschütze in Grossbritannien und in den USA produziert. Für umfangreiche Lieferungen an Deutschland und an Italien beschäftigt das Oerlikoner Werk zeitweise weit über 3'000 Mitarbeiter. Am 26. September 1944 verhängt der Schweizerische Bundesrat ein vollständiges Exportverbot für Kriegsmaterial, das fast ein Jahr in Kraft bleibt. Emil Bührle beschäftigt seine Entwicklungsabteilung und die Facharbeiter weiter und investiert vermehrt in zivile Produkte.

In den Kriegsjahren erwirbt Emil Bührle rund 100 Bilder überwiegend von französischen Malern des 19. Jahrhunderts. Fünf Bilder kauft er im Herbst 1941 in Paris. Bei der Galerie Fischer in Luzern und bei der Galerie Aktuaryus in Zürich kauft Emil Bührle 1942/43 unter anderem auch zwölf Werke französischer Impressionisten, bei denen sich kurz nach Kriegsende herausstellt, dass sie ihren jüdischen Eigentümern in Frankreich von deutschen Amtsstellen gestohlen worden waren. In der Folge hatte sie der deutsche Reichsmarschall Hermann Göring für Tauschgeschäfte in der Schweiz absetzen lassen. Ein letztes Raubkunst-Bild kommt im Sommer 1944 aus privater Vermittlung in Bührles Sammlung.

1941 stellt Emil Bührle der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft eine Stiftung von 2 Millionen Franken in Aussicht, mit denen ein Erweiterungsbau für das Kunsthaus am Heimplatz realisiert werden soll. 1943 ist er wichtigster Leihgeber einer Ausstellung, die im Kunsthaus "Ausländische Kunst in Zürich" zeigt. Beim Bau einer Betriebskantine in Oerlikon erteilt Bührle führenden Schweizer Künstlern grosse Wandbildaufträge. In die Fabrik gelangen auch zahlreiche Bilder zeitgenössischer Schweizer Maler, die Bührle aber stets strikte von seiner Sammlung internationaler Künstler getrennt hält.

Die kriegswirtschaftlichen Anbauvorschriften für Industrie-Betriebe veranlassen Emil Bührle, im Maggia-Delta im Tessin Landwirtschaftsfläche zu erwerben und einen Musterbetrieb aufzubauen. Das daneben befindliche "Castello del Sole" wird später zu einem Hotel erweitert. 1942 wird in Oerlikon die christkatholische Kirche eingeweiht, die mit Emil Bührles Hilfe errichtet wurde. Er trägt mit Bildern und Skulpturen auch zur Innenausstattung der Kirche bei.