Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956, entrepreneur and art collector
Emil Bührle, ca. 1924


1924-1929: First years in Switzerland

At the beginning of 1924, Emil Bührle arrives in Zurich, where his employer has taken over the Schweizerische Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon (Swiss Machine Tool Factory Oerlikon) the previous year. In the summer of 1924, Bührle acquires the patent for a 20-mm gun developed by the German engineer Reinhold Becker from the bankruptcy assets of Maschinenbau AG Seebach (Seebach Engineering Ltd). This step is taken in connection with the so-called “covert German armament”, which takes place in production plants outside Germany, in the Netherlands, Sweden, and Switzerland, after the Treaty of Versailles enforces an almost complete prohibition of the German armaments industry. With financial aid from the German Ordnance Department of the German Military Command in Berlin, the “Becker cannon” is subsequently technically perfected in Oerlikon. Thanks to a delivery of 120 guns to China to General Chiang Kai-shek, the Oerlikon factory becomes an important client for suppliers in Switzerland, including the weapons factories of the Swiss Army. In 1929, Bührle’s father-in-law Ernst Schalk becomes a majority shareholder in the company. Emil Bührle lives at various addresses in the City of Zurich with his family, which has now grown to four members.

1930-1939: Self-employed entrepreneur, first art acquisitions

Emil Bührle acquires licensees for his company in Italy, Germany and Japan; contracts in Europe and South America distribute the anti-aircraft guns from Oerlikon throughout the world. In 1938, Emil Bührle becomes the sole owner of the joint-stock company Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co. (Machine Tool Factory Oerlikon Bührle & Co.), which he henceforth runs independently as a shareholder with unlimited liability. When Germany openly begins to rearm under the Nazi regime, German armaments companies offer stiff competition for Switzerland’s armaments industry. This renders the large orders received as of 1938 by the Oerlikon factory and other manufacturers in Switzerland from Belgium, France and the United Kingdom all the more significant. In the same year, a new article in the constitution for the first time imposes control of the production and export of war materiel on the Swiss Federal Council.

In March 1937, Emil Bührle acquires Swiss citizenship and moves into a large house on Zollikerstrasse in Zurich with his family at the end of the year. With this in mind, he starts to purchase pictures for his living quarters as of November 1936. These acquisitions include works by French painters of the Barbizon School such as Camille Corot, Adolph Monticelli and Narcisse Diaz de la Peña, but also by classic impressionist artists like Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro, Auguste Renoir and Alfred Sisley. Emil Bührle buys most of his pictures from the Zurich gallery owned by Toni Aktuaryus. He acquires more expensive paintings from Siegfried Rosengart in Lucerne, including works by Edouard Manet, Vincent van Gogh and Paul Cézanne. In 1938, Emil Bührle buys the neighbouring house at Zollikerstrasse 172. Part of it is inhabited by his parents-in-law, and part of it is used to store pictures. In 1939, the Hotel zum Storchen built by Emil Bührle is opened in the centre of Zurich. It incorporates the guildhall of the Zurich Mariners’ Guild.

Emil Georg Bührle
1890-1956 als Unternehmer und als Kunstsammler
Emil Bührle, um 1924


1924-1929: Die ersten Jahre in der Schweiz

Anfangs 1924 trifft Emil Bührle in Zürich ein, wo sein Arbeitgeber im Vorjahr die Schweizerische Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon gekauft hat. Im Sommer 1924 erwirbt Bührle aus der Konkursmasse der Maschinenbau AG Seebach das Patent für ein 20-mm-Geschütz, das der deutsche Ingenieur Reinhold Becker entwickelt hat. Dieser Schritt geschieht im Zusammenhang mit der sogenannten "verdeckten deutschen Rüstung", die auf ausländische Produktionsstätten in Holland, Schweden und der Schweiz ausweicht, nachdem der Friedensvertrag von Versailles ein fast vollständiges Verbot der deutschen Rüstungsindustrie durchgesetzt hat. Mit finanzieller Hilfe der Inspektion für Waffen und Gerät in der deutschen Heeresleitung in Berlin wird die "Becker-Kanone" in der Folge in Oerlikon technisch perfektioniert. Die Lieferung von 120 Geschützen nach China an General Tschiang Kai-schek macht das Oerlikoner Werk erstmals auch zu einem wichtigen Auftraggeber für Zulieferer in der Schweiz, darunter die Rüstungsbetriebe der Schweizer Armee. 1929 übernimmt Bührles Schwiegervater Ernst Schalk die Aktienmehrheit der Firma. Emil Bührle wohnt mit seiner inzwischen vierköpfigen Familie an verschiedenen Adressen in der Stadt Zürich.

1930-1939: Selbstständiger Unternehmer und erste Kunstkäufe

Emil Bührle gewinnt für seine Firma Lizenznehmer in Italien, Deutschland und Japan; Abschlüsse in Europa und Südamerika verbreiten das Fliegerabwehrgeschütz aus Oerlikon auf der ganzen Welt. 1938 wird Emil Bührle alleiniger Inhaber der Kommanditgesellschaft Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Oerlikon Bührle & Co., die er fortan als unbeschränkt haftender Gesellschafter unabhängig führt . Mit dem Beginn der offenen Aufrüstung Deutschlands werden deutsche Rüstungsfirmen starke Konkurrenz für die Schweizer Rüstungsindustrie. Umso wichtiger sind grosse Aufträge, die das Oerlikoner Werk und andere Hersteller in der Schweiz ab 1938 aus Belgien, Frankreich, und Grossbritannien erhalten. Im gleichen Jahr auferlegt ein neuer Verfassungsartikel dem Schweizerischen Bundesrat erstmals die Kontrolle über Produktion und Export von Kriegsmaterial.

Im März 1937 erwirbt Emil Bührle das Schweizer Bürgerrecht, Ende des Jahres bezieht er mit seiner Familie ein grosses Haus an der Zollikerstrasse in Zürich. Im Hinblick darauf haben seit November 1936 erste Bilderkäufe eingesetzt. Sie gelten Bildern französischer Maler aus dem Umkreis der Ecole de Barbizon wie Camille Corot, Adolph Monticelli und Narcisse Diaz de la Peña, umfassen aber auch die klassischen Impressionisten wie Claude Monet, Camille Pissarro, Auguste Renoir und Alfred Sisley. Die meisten seiner Käufe tätigt Emil Bührle bei der Zürcher Galerie von Toni Aktuaryus. Kostspieligere Bilder erwirbt er bei Siegfried Rosengart in Luzern, darunter Werke von Edouard Manet, Vincent van Gogh und Paul Cézanne. 1938 kauft Emil Bührle das Nachbarhaus an der Zollikerstrasse 172. Es wird teilweise von seinen Schwiegereltern bewohnt und teilweise für die Lagerung von Bildern genutzt. 1939 wird das von Emil Bührle erbaute Hotel zum Storchen in der Zürcher Innenstadt eröffnet. Es nimmt die Zunftstube der Zunft zur Schiffleuten Zürich auf.